Hosts Secunderabad Club emerge champions

By Author   |   Published: 22nd Dec 2016   1:50 pm Updated: 23rd Dec 2016   4:00 pm

Hyderabad: Hosts Secunderabad Club displayed excellent teamwork as they thwarted Club League Championship winners Sanathnagar Playground 85-74 to emerge champions in the final of the Secunderabad Club Invitation Basketball tournament in city on Wednesday.

The high-scoring match witnessed Secunderabad Club register a hard fought comeback victory after squandering a 13-point lead midway through the game after having the best of starts. Sanathnagar forwards Nikhil (16) and Shiva (12) troubled the Secunderabad Club defence with their relentless attacks while the diminutive Basant Kumar, who bagged 15 points, also added to Secunderabad Club’s misery with his accurate three-point shooting.

Secunderabad Club’s Rohan Panicker and Aman Mahamood (12) were unable to find the basket as the Sanathnagar defence led by Naveed Khan kept them in constant vigil.

But Kaushik and Vidhura finally broke the deadlock for Secunderabad Club as they found some momentum in the offence. The winners reduced the lead to 33-40 at halftime with Rohan again finding the back of the net and Kaushik scoring for his side with three pointers.

After halftime Rohan took the game single-handedly as he went on a goal-scoring spree to amass a total of 33 points and win the match for his side. Kaushik also supported well collecting 20 points and won the Most Valuable Player of the championship award.

Meanwhile, Secunderabad YMCA secured the third spot as they overcame Victory Playground (VPG) 89-77 in a tight encounter. Ashu Tyagi grabbed 21 points while Chris Viresh claimed 18 to guide their side to victory. Naveen (34) and Salman Khan (33) did the bulk of the scoring for VPG but only to be overshadowed by a Secunderabad YMCA team game.

Final: Secunderabd Club 85 (Rohan Panicker 33, Kaushik 20, Aman Mahamood 12) bt Sanathnagar Playground 74(Nikhil 16, Basanth 15, Shiva 12);
Third Place: Secunderabad YMCA 89 (Ashu Tyagi 21, Chris Viresh 18) bt VPG 77 (Naveen 34, Salman Khan 33) Halftime 42-35.